Where oh where did my little blog go?

December 13, 2009 at 3:10 am

Once upon a time, a long, long time ago, in Cyberspace, USA, I created this blog. It was my initiation into the world of internet social networking. The beginning of building my author’s platform! My intent was to blog about the evolution and transformation of a stay-at-home mom to Ms. Published Author Extraordinaire. I was going to blog twice a week about the trials and tribulations of writing a book while trying to balance all the other roles I play day in and day out, such as: mother, wife, friend, volunteer, cook, referee, tutor, party organizer, chauffeur, and professional shopper. But where did my little blog go?

Although I’ve made some significant headway on my primary goal for 2009, writing a YA biography, my blog has virtually disappeared. Slipping on my meditation cap, I spent some time reflecting about the purpose of a blog and where I wanted my blog to go.

An incident occurred one day after my boys came home from school, that gave me an idea to spice up my blog. While eating their snack, I excitedly plopped down some books on the kitchen table for my kids to read (given a choice, my boys would rather read video game guides than books). After looking at the front covers, they told me they only read award-winning books. My children were literally judging a book by its cover! I tried to reason with them that many published good books never receive awards and just because a book received an award doesn’t mean the book IS good. So I’ve decided to blog about published nonfiction children’s books.

Of course there are hundreds of blogs, websites and magazines that review children’s books, but most focus on fiction. I hope my blog will stand out for two reasons: (1) I will only read nonfiction children’s book, and (2) Jason (my 10-year-old son) will also share his thoughts and responses about nonfiction books.

Stay tuned for our review of the 2009 Orbis Pictus Award Winner, Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost Aviator.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Nonfiction Books, Uncategorized.

Dwarf African Frog Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost Aviator


Click on the “About Us” tab to learn about Jenny and Jason

Books We’re Reading

George Washington Carver by Tonya Bolden, Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2008.

Our Abe Lincoln by Jim Aylesworth, Scholastic, 2009

Recent Posts


