Dwarf African Frog

May 21, 2009 at 12:15 am 2 comments

Santa Bob minus the beard.

Santa Bob minus the beard.

In 2007, Santa Claus decided to reward my 7-year-old son's good behavior by giving him a fish tank. But Santa forgot to leave him the "How to Care for Your Fish" user manual. All the fish died two days later. That was the year my son stopped believing in Santa Claus.

Fast forward to 2009, my son is now ten years old. In science, he's studying the habitats of live organisms within an ecosystem. The class was very excited when the first organisms arrived–dwarf african frogs. These critters are about an inch long and very cute. At the end of 2 weeks, the students can adopt a frog. I allowed my son to adopt one. Unlike Santa Claus, my son did receive instructions on how to care for his new pet in the form of a test and adoption paperwork. So I assumed we were prepared for the new edition to our family.

My son brought his new pet home on a Friday, and by Saturday we concluded (through my meticulous internet research) that the frog needed a better home. So much for my son retaining what he learned. Off to the pet store we went and $50 later came home with a 3 gallon tank, blood worms, and tank decorations. We could tell the frog was much happier by the way she swam around the tank. Or maybe it was the blood worms.

These frogs are only one inch long.But more frogs needed a home, so I allowed my son to adopt one more. I’m proud to say that almost three weeks later, the frogs are still swimming in their new home. So if you’re looking for a low-cost and low-maintenance pet for your child, try one (or two) of these. But beware, you may get attached to these little guys and learn about their habitats in the process.

Entry filed under: My Wacky Family. Tags: .

Dog of Discovery Where oh where did my little blog go?

2 Comments

  • 1. jennylbailey  |  May 26, 2009 at 6:52 am

    I’m sad to report that both frogs died. We’re going to the pet store tomorrow and but two more. I tried to turn this into a learning experience by telling him how fragile living eco systems are and why they need protection. But he just replied, “I killed them.”

  • 2. Sandra Humphrey  |  June 8, 2009 at 1:02 am

    I can relate to how your son feels. While our kids were growing up, we had three horses, a pony, many cats and dogs, white rats, teddy bear hamsters, fish, and an alligator. The alligator was not my idea of a warm, cuddly pet and he was our only “pet” I did not become attached to. Our son brought the white rats home from his school biology lab for the summer, but, of course, they stayed with us until they died three years later.


Click on the “About Us” tab to learn about Jenny and Jason

Books We’re Reading

George Washington Carver by Tonya Bolden, Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2008.

Our Abe Lincoln by Jim Aylesworth, Scholastic, 2009

Recent Posts


